Film scans Noritsu vs Epson V550

While trying to save costs on film Processing so I can shoot more, I decided to purchase an Epson scanner. I made a bit of research and some folks recommended Epson. I wanted a decent one without having to spend over $300 USD but that wasn’t going to happen. So I finally decided to purchase the Epson V550 for only $180. I immediately made a comparison from a roll that I recently had scanned while it was being processed. Here is a sample of what this little scanner can do:

Left is Noritsu and right is V550 from Agfa 200 film

I wanted to spend more on a better scanner but I could just use my digital cameras if I wanted to print bigger than 5x7in.  At the moment I’m only shooting film for the fun of it. Either way I believe based on my tests that this V550 is great for prints up to 8×10. At larger sizes you will see many imperfections on your prints.

For the most updated price and availability I recommend you check it at amazon:

Epson Perfection V550 Color Photo, Image, Film, Negative & Document Scanner with 6400 dpi (B11B210201)

Leave a Reply

