M9 CCD or M 240 CMOS?

I no longer have the amazing Leica M9. I sent it for remapping but apparently had more serious issues and was in the shop for more about 4 months. Finally I was given the opportunity to get a Leica M Typ 240, M-E or  another Leica M9. I prefer the look of the M9 and I can spot it 85% of the time from the rest of CMOS cameras. I am afraid of buying a used M9 and I simply don’t like the darker gray paint color of the M-E. So either I embrace the CMOS sensor or try to find an M9 from a Leica store with confirmation of sensor replacement. One positive note is that I have played win DNG files from a Leica M 240 and were able to CLOSELY match the color, sharpness and rendition of the M9 and saved it as a preset that can be used on all imports into Lightroom. I will update this post with some sample images later in the week.

If you are or were an M9 owner, what is your opinion on this M9 Sensor issue?

UPDATE #1

It’s been a few days with the Leica M. I am testing the JPEG and DNG at high ISO.

MiosL1000216

The bottom image at ISO 400. Beautiful colors.

DanielL1000178b

UPDATE #2

The longer I play with the colors on the M Typ 240, the closer I can get personal satisfaction on color rendition. The following image is from the CMOS sensor and to me looks like a CCD. 

  

5 thoughts on “M9 CCD or M 240 CMOS?

  1. Just today I was reading a few posts discussing (and asking to Leica) the possibility of a brand new M with CCD sensor. I am also among those who prefer the cinematic feel of the CCD; even though the CMOS is way more capable to deliver in low light. In fact I just sold all my Fuji gear -I prefer the CMOS to the X-Trans- and this month I went back to basics; got myself a beautiful Leica M8, a Digilux 2 and the original 12.8mp Canon 5D, which has a CMOS but for some reason that old sensor has a very analogue “CCD” look which I love. The only thing that would make me take an M240 over an M-E is the EVF and the chance to use other lenses than the M-mount ones. Thanks for sharing the post! Ricardo

    • I have a theory where a good colorist should be able to replicate the look of a CCD or anything else available with almost no difference. I am trying to achieve it but I am far from being a professional colorist. I created some import settings to make the M Typ 240 look closer to the M9 and so far it’s looking good. But you have to shoot RAW.

      • Thank you! I got a nice charger too ūüôā The thing with CCDs IMHO is more about texture rather than color or maybe I am wrong, but for example I have a few shots I took with my now sold X-E1+35mm 1.4 set with its X-Trans sensor which look super sharp, lots of narrow DoF, but at the same time they look “soul-less”; too clean, too perfect, too digital (?) each one has their own personal preferences, but given that basically any good modern camera can deliver sharp results, I prefer the coarse-gritty look of the old CCDs, or from a few CMOS like the Canon 5D, the Epson R-D1 or the original Fuji X100. Would be nice to buy a Leica and decide which sensor you prefer, like the small Fuji¬īs which are identical and you can pick either the X-T or the CMOS model…

Leave a Reply

