Voigtlander 35mm Classic Nokton MC vs Color Skopar

I made another quick test of these two lenses. The Voigtlander Color Skopar II is a great little lens, no focus shift and super sharp. I am glad I own it, specially when I only paid $350 with hood and B&W UV Filter. Now, the Classic MC is another story…

I want to like the Voigtlander 35mm Classic Nokton f/1.4 MC but it is soft, has about 7 to 15 inches of focus shift from f/2.8 to f/8 (depending on aperture and distance from subject) and it never gets sharp as other lenses. Has some distortion as well. I do not mind the distortion since it can be fixed with Lightroom, I also don’t mind the busy crazy our of focus areas it renders since I can always fix that as well. The only reason not to like this lens is simply sharpness and the focusing is stiff between 0.7 to 1.2 meters.

This means I won’t be keeping this lens, I will try the Nokton 35mm 1.2 II next time, people say its sharp and has nice out of focus rendering.

Screen-Shot-2015-04-24-at-9.07.11-PM

Leave a Reply

