Nikon Lenses on Leica M Typ 240 – What can you do?

I prefer to use longer lenses for portraits. There are some complications and downs but I prefer the images I create when using longer lenses. Since my longest lens on my Leica is 50mm, I started looking for a longer lens option and found that I could use my old 80-200mm f/2.8 AF-D lens like I used in the past on my Nikon F100. After receiving the Fotasy F mount to M, I immediately mounted all my Nikon lenses on the Leica. Yes, the lenses appear to gain a new soul mounted on the Leica, I believe is because this camera doesn’t have a low pass filter and the micro lenses give me a little more detail that I had using those lenses. After playing with the lenses for a bit, I scheduled a session and created some great images using this long heavy lens and an Nikkor 85mm f/1.4 AF-D as well. Obviously, it was difficult to focus using the Olympus VF2 electronic viewfinder but maybe much easier and enjoyable than shooting with a huge Mamiya RB6 and I enjoyed it more than using the D800 as well.

Here is the combo:

LeicaNikon_5072707

Leica M + Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8 + Olympus VF2 + Fotasy F to M


and now the results:

MEganL1001480

Great foreground to background separation and really soft blur. Sharpness? You can see her eyes and all the detail in hair and earrings. Shot with Leica M + Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8.

Leave a Reply

